There are more people that are starting a gluten-free diet and wonder what type of foods they can eat. Gluten is a protein found in wheat, barley, rya, and triticale integrated into a lot of our usual western diet. The benefits to stop eating or at least reducing gluten foods are worth trying out this diet.

Many of us always wonder what to eat on a gluten-free diet, so here is the ultimate list:

  • Whole Grains

Whole Grains - what to eat on a gluten-free diet.

Whole Grains – what to eat on a gluten-free diet.

Did you know that there are grains with and without gluten? Maybe it is just me, but I didn’t know until like a while ago… Here’s a quick list of some gluten-free grains: quinoa, brown/wild rice, buckwheat, and oats. My favorite is definitely wild rice as you can make it with every type of fish, meat, and poultry. Delicious! You can definitely eat this on a gluten-free diet.

  • Fruits 

Fruits - what to eat on a gluten-free diet.

Fruits – what to eat on a gluten-free diet.

All fruits are gluten-free, so you are safe! So unlimited while on a gluten-free diet. We are all taught that eating fruit is a good thing and I can only agree of course. Having said this, do keep in mind that although natural, fruit has sugar in it. So if you’re trying to lose weight or restoring your gut, it might be something to limit. suggesting to reduce it to once per day; you do not have to cut it completely.

  • Vegetables

Vegetable - what to eat on a gluten-free diet.

Vegetable – what to eat on a gluten-free diet.

All vegetables gluten-free and free to eat on a gluten-free diet. What you have to be careful of is when processed. An example is when you buy pre-packed vegetables, for example, soup or eve bouillon. When it states 98% vegetables, that does not mean that the 2% has no gluten in it. Always check the ingredients list and better yet, cut up your own vegetables. Ps: beans are an excellent vegetable as it is high in protein

  • Nuts and seed

Nuts and Seeds - what to eat on a gluten-free diet.

Nuts and Seeds – what to eat on a gluten-free diet.

Nuts and seeds are in their pure form 100% gluten-free. The trick is to always make sure that you have natural nuts and that there are not flavored nuts per example. Often with flavoring, they add colored additives, sugar, and others such as gluten. You can enjoy all nuts: peanuts, almonds, pecans, walnuts, pistachios, cashew, and more. And for seeds: sesame seeds, sunflower seeds, and more. I love this about a gluten-free diet since nuts are so delicous!

  • Legumes

Legumes - what to eat on a gluten-free diet.

Legumes – what to eat on a gluten-free diet.

Legumes are beans, peas, and lentils and packed with protein. Again, these legumes are 100% gluten-free. The problem is when processed legumes. You can learn a few tricks on how to cook them and turn them into delicious dishes. Take a look at the ingredients list when buying them in the shop and learn a few simple dishes fast. This way you can make use of this protein-packed and gluten-free superfood.

  • Red Meat

Red Meat - what to eat on a gluten-free diet.

Red Meat – what to eat on a gluten-free diet.

It seems to repeat and I hope you start understanding how important your nutrition is. Red meat is full of protein and is 100% gluten-free. Be careful with breaded or flavored meat as with this process it adds the gluten in it without you noticing… until it is too late!

  • Poultry

Poultry - what to eat on a gluten-free diet.

Poultry – what to eat on a gluten-free diet.

Out of all the poultry that is available, the most popular is chicken. It is pretty much always added to a healthy diet, because it has limited fat, has lots of protein and calcium. On top of that, it can aid in weight loss, regulating cholesterol and blood pressure. And last, but definitely not least, it is most of the time the cheaper option between chicken, meat, or seafood.

  • Seafood

Seafood - what to eat on a gluten-free diet.

Seafood – what to eat on a gluten-free diet.

Another delicious food that has a wide variety and is completely gluten-free. And yes, you guessed it. Gluten-free in its natural form. Be careful and don’t eat fish sticks or anything that is fried with some type of gluten. Seafood is high in protein, including omega-3 fatty acids. Seafood is known to also decrease inflammation and reduce the risk of heart disease. Whenever you do have the choice between poultry, meat or seafood: go for the seafood!

  • Soy Foods

Soy Foods - what to eat on a gluten-free diet.

Soy Foods – what to eat on a gluten-free diet.

Foods that are rich in soy include edamame, miso, and soymilk. Also, foods like tofu, soy sauce or soybean oil can be found in the grocery store. Soy is without any gluten and can be delicious to make full meals, sandwiches, side dishes, or salads with. In my article “6 Common Foods that Damage your Gut”, I do describe how too much soy isn’t good for you.

  • Dairy Products

Dairy Products - what to eat on a gluten-free diet.

Dairy Products – what to eat on a gluten-free diet.

There’s a wide range of dairy products that you can enjoy as these are all gluten-free. The most important with selecting your choice of dairy is to make sure they are not flavored. You can enjoy milk (try almond), cheese, cream, or yogurt.  In my article “6 Common Foods that Damage your Gut”, I do describe how too much soy isn’t good for you.

  • Fats and Oils 

Fats and Oil - what to eat on a gluten-free diet.

Fats and Oil – what to eat on a gluten-free diet.

Again 100% gluten-free as long as it isn’t mixed with foods for flavor and thickening. Enjoy olives and its oil, avocados and oil, coconut oil, vegetable or seed oils, and even butter. Take a close look at the ingredients list to be sure it is gluten-free.

  • Beverages

Beverages - what to eat on a gluten-free diet.

Beverages – what to eat on a gluten-free diet.

Anything natural: water, 100% fruit juice, coffee, or tea. There are other drinks such as wine, soda, energy drinks or lemonade that promise to be gluten-free. A word of warning though as often gluten tends to be replaced by sugar. Definitely be careful with beer as most of the time it is made with gluten-containing grains.

  • Spices, sauces, and condiments

Spices, sauces and condiments  - what to eat on a gluten-free diet.

Spices, sauces and condiments – what to eat on a gluten-free diet.

Alert: often added with gluten-containing ingredients stabilizers or flavor enhancers. You might think it is all innocent, but you better take an extra look on the ingredients list. Also, if there is no gluten in it, then be careful with the added sugar. One time, I looked at spices that I wanted to buy and it showed that 37% was salt. That is not good!

Conclusion

A gluten-free diet can be beneficial for many people with gut-related issues. If you want to avoid gluten, for whatever reason, it is key that you learn how to read the ingredients list. What to eat on a gluten-free diet can be tricky to understand. Hopefully this ultimate guide has given you som insights already. There is plenty of foods that you can still enjoy as long as you keep an eye out.

What do you eat on a gluten-free diet?